



IMPORTANT NOTICE FIRE PROHIBITION PERIOD 2021/2022

The Sarah Baartman District Municipality (SBDM) in conjunction with the Eastern Cape Provincial Disaster Management Centre (EC-PDMC) a directorate within the Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA) hereby advises that due to the Veld Fire Season and prevailing drought conditions no burning or open fires as defined are permitted as follows:

- Makana Municipality as from 1 July 2021 until 31 October 2021
- Kouga and Koukamma Municipalities as from 1 November 2021 until 28
 February 2022;
- Ndlambe- and Sundays River Valley Municipalities as from 1 November
 2021 until 31 January 2022;
- Dr Beyers Naude Municipality as from 1 August 2021 until 31 March 2022;
- Blue Crane Route Municipality as from 1 August 2021 until 30 April 2022

Burning will be allowed under the following strict conditions:

- ❖ The Chief Fire Officers of the Local Municipalities must approve all burning operations according to their respective burning permit systems.
- ❖ In the absence of a Chief Fire Officer, the Fire Protection Officer of the local Fire Protection Association must approve all burning operations according to their respective burning permit system and Community Safety By-laws.
- Landowners must apply a minimum of seven (7) days prior to burning for preapproval.
- Final approval for burning must be obtained on the day of the proposed burn.
- All bordering landowners must be informed of burning operations in terms of the National Veld and Forest Fire Act (Act 101 of 1998) (NVFFA).
- ❖ The NVFFA places a duty on all landowners to have all precautions in place to prevent a fire from spreading or causing damage.

The public is urged to be extremely vigilant and to report any fires to the Local Municipalities

- Makana (Alicedale, Grahamstown, Riebeeck East): 046 6224444 / 080 111 4444
- Kouga (Hankey, Humansdorp, JeffreysBay, Oyster Bay, Patensie, St Francis Bay): 042 2910250
- Koukamma (Joubertina, Kareedouw, Louterwater, Storms River, Coldstream, Clarkson, Misgund, Krakeel): 071 869 3235



- Ndlambe (Alexandria, Bathurst, Boknes, Bushmans River, Cannon Rocks, Kenton-on-Sea, Port Alfred): 046 6241111
- Sundays River Valley (Addo, Kirkwood, Paterson): 042 2300942
- Blue Crane Route (Cookhouse, Pearston, Somerset East): 042 2433281
- Dr Beyers Naude (Aberdeen, Graaff-Reinet, Nieu Bethesda, Jansenville, Klipplaat, Steytlerville, Willowmore): 060 4250 113

or the Sarah Baartman District Municipal Disaster Management Centre at 041 508 7048 / **Toll free 080 022 2238**, Fire Protection Associations, alternatively to the Ambulance services at **10177**, South African Police services at **10111** and the Public Emergency centre at **112**.

Any persons contravening this notice may be liable and face prosecution under the Fire Brigade Services Act 99 of 1987, National Veld and Forest Fire Act 101 of 1998) or any other applicable legislation.

For any further information kindly contact Mr K Majokweni at 082 628 3359 / 041 508 7036 of the SBDM or Mr N Dom at 072 043 9801 of the EC – PDMC

