BLUE CRANE ROUTE MUNICIPALITY

NOTICE: 06 /2022

NOMINATION OF WARD COMMITTEES FOR PERIOD 2022 - 2027



Notice is hereby given in terms of section 73 of the Local Government Municipal Structures Act No 117 of 1998. The Blue Crane Route Municipality is required to establish Ward Committees in terms of the act. The election of Ward Committees will be conducted according to the Ward Committee Policy of the Municipality which prescribes that the process must be preceded by the call for nominations.

The Speaker of Blue Crane Route Municipality, the Honorable Councilor Neliswa Yantolo-Nkonyeni invites all members of Blue Crane Route community to participate in the ward committee nomination process which is preceding the elections of ward committees.

Ward Community members are entitled to nominate eligible persons to represent a diversity of interests by inclusion of as many as possible of the following interest groups on a ward committee:

- (a) Youth;
- (b) Women;
- (c) Religious Groupings;
- (d) Sports and Culture;
- (e) Health and Welfare;
- (f) Business;
- (g) Environment;
- (h) Education:
- (i) Senior Citizens;
- (j) Community Safety Forums;
- (k) Community Based Organizations;
- (I) Ratepayers/ Civic associations;
- (m) Traditional leaders;
- (n) Agricultural Associations:
- (o) Informal Traders' Associations:
- (p) People Living with Disabilities;
- (g) Farm Workers;
- (r) Employment;
- (s) Tourism.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

To be eligible for election as a ward committee member a person must:

- 1. Be registered as a voter on the voters roll of the ward for which he or she is nominated;
- 2. Not be a member of the Council:
- 3. Not be an employee of the Municipality or Sarah Baartman District Municipality;
- 4. Not been in arrears to the Municipality rates and service charges for a period longer than three months:
- 5. Not been convicted of an offence and sentenced to imprisonment without the option of a fine for a period of less than 12 months;
- 6. Is not a person of unsound mind who has been declared so by a competent court.

N/B. Nominators should be registered on the voters roll of the ward.

Nomination forms will be available from the 11 March 2022 and can be collected from Ward Councilors, and can also be downloaded off the municipal website www.bcrm.gov.za.

Completed forms must be returned to the following collection points

COOKHOUSE: Cookhouse Library, at Cookhouse Town Hall.

PEARSTON: Housing Office, Municipal Offices.

SOMERSET EAST: Corporate Services Department ,88 Nojoli Street, Somerset East,

All nominations forms must be returned before 12:00 on Thursday the 31 March 2022.

ELECTIONS WILL TAKE PLACE ON DATES YET TO BE CONFIRMED

For enquiries, feel free to contact:

Mrs Novuko Kubone, Director: Corporate Services through the Speaker's Office

Tel: 042 243 6400

Email: novukok@bcrm.gov.za

Thabiso Klaas Municipal Manager Blue Crane Route Municipality (BCRM) P. O. Box 21 Somerset East 5850